deutsch | français | english



The Steering Committee is responsible for conducting NRP 57. It takes on primarily strategic responsibilities for the entire duration of the programme. The tasks of the Steering Committee range from selecting the research projects for approval by the Research Council to monitoring adherence to the quality standards set by the Swiss National Science Foundation for all national research programmes.

As the responsible body, the Steering Committee sets out the programme's specific profile and assures the necessary continuity and coherence. It organizes and monitors the co-ordination of the research, evaluates the progress of the research projects and the progress of the implementation activities of the individual projects and NRP 57 as a whole. The Steering Committee also evaluates the interim and final reports.
On the role and the independence of the Steering Committee (pdf), 137 KB

Members of the Steering Committee

Prof. em. Dr. Alexander Borbély (president)

Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology
University of Zurich

Prof. Dr. Anders Ahlbom

Karolinska Institute
Stockholm, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Jørgen Bach Andersen

Institute of Electronic Systems
University of Aalborg
Aalborg, Denmark

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Cardis

Centre for Research in Environmental Epidemiology (CREAL), Barcelona, Spain

Prof. Dr. Yngve Hamnerius

Bioelectromagnetics Group
Chalmers University of Technology
Goteborg, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Christian Hess

Department of Neurology
Inselspital (University Hospital), Bern

Prof. Dr. Dariusz Leszczynski

Radiation Biology Unit
Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK)
Helsinki, Finland

Prof. Dr. Ragnar Löfstedt

IPI King's Centre for Risk Management
King's College London
London, United Kingdom

Programme Co-ordinator

Dr. Christian Mottas

Division IV
Swiss National Science Foundation, Bern

Delegate of the Research Council of the SNF

Prof. Dr. André G. Kléber

Institute of Physiology
University of Bern

Implementation Officer

Mathis Brauchbar

advocacy ag
communication and consulting

Federal Representatives

Dr. Mirjana Moser

Radiological Protection Division
Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH)

Dr. Jürg Baumann

Air Pollution Control and NIR Division
Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN)

International Scientific Liaison Officers

Dr. Sonja Negovetic

Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology
University of Zurich

Dr. Sabine Regel

Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology
University of Zurich